Tuesday, August 27, 2019

Community Service Events


Thursday, Sept. 12 Soldier's Angels Mobile Food Distribution (American Legion Joe Louis Post 375)
12 pm - 2 pm (10 am for Volunteers)
19486 Sherwood-Detroit
Soldier's Angels Mobile Food Distribution will also be held on October 10th and November 14th
Registration required to receive food distribution

Saturday, Sept 21 Military Veteran All Stars (Marygrove Liberal Arts Theater) (cost $29)
7:00 PM
8425 W. McNichols-Detroit
Proceeds go to No Veteran Left Behind

Saturday, October 12 Making Strides Cancer Walk (Hart Plaza)
8 am to 12 pm
1 Hart Plaza-Detroit
Registration required

Thursday, October 17 Women Stand Down (Detroit Lightguard Armory)
8 am – 5 pm
4400 E. 8 Mile Rd-Detroit
  
Friday, October 18 Trunk or Treat (The Children's Center)
4:30 pm – 6:30 pm (2:30 pm for Volunteers)
90 W. Alexandrine St-Detroit
Registration required

Saturday, November 2 Female Veteran Stand Down (University of Michigan-Dearborn)
10 am – 2 pm
19000 Hubbard Dr-Dearborn
Registration required

Friday, November 8 Veterans Appreciation Ceremony (Detroit VA Medical Center)
11:30 am - 3 pm
4646 John R St-Detroit

Saturday, November 16 Michigan Women Veterans Empowerment Conference
11 am - 4 pm
26000 Evergreen Rd-Southfield
Registration required

Sunday, November 17 Girls on the Run (gotrdetroit.org)
Time TBD
Location TBD

Friday, December 13 GoodFellows 
11:30 am - 1:00 pm (Volunteers)
Location PENDING
Advance registration required to receive GoodFellows packages
Volunteer registration required
                                   
 Saturday, December 14 Wreaths Across America (Clinton Groves Cemetery)
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
21189 Cass Ave-Clinton Township

CONTACT INFORMATION
  
LeDene Lewis – Detroit Lighthouse Community Theatre (dlctheatre@gmail.com)
John Pelletier – Folds of Honor (jpelletier@foldsofhonor.org)
Charles Staples – Detroit Police Department (staplesc869@detroitmi.gov)
Lisa McClendon – Detroit Police Department (mcclendonl397@detroitmi.gov)
William Browning – VA Hospital, Chief of Volunteer & Community Relations (William.browning@va.gov)
Camille Randle – VA Hospital, Voluntary Service Specialist (camille.randle@va.gov)
Lisa Olney – VA Hospital, Public Affairs Officer (lisa.olney@va.gov)
Alysse Mengason – VA Hospital, Public Affairs Officer (alysse.mengason@va.gov)
Brenda Finney – VA Hospital, Women's Health Event Coordinator (Brenda.finney@va.gov)
Alexis Harrison-Derriso – VA Hospital, Program Support Assistance (alexis.harrison-derriso@va.gov)
Tyrone Chatman – Michigan Veterans Foundation, Executive Director & CEO (mvf002@earthlink.net)
Lenore Bolthouse – Yankee Air Museum Rosies, Event Coordinator (Lenore.bolthouse@gmail.com)
Cody Snell – U.S Army Recruiter (cody.s.snell.mil@mail.mil)
Derek Gallegos – National Guard Recruiting & Retention NCO (derek.m.gallegos.mil@mail.mil)
Raven Saddler – National Guard Recruiting & Retention NCO (raven.a.saddler.mil@mail.mil)
Richard Estes – National Guard Recruiter (Richard.h.estes4.mil@mail.mil)
Joseph Frederick – National Guard Wayne State ROTC/RRNCO (joseph.frederick.mil@mail.mil)
Nicholas Rivera – National Guard Wayne State ROTC (nicholasrivera04@gmail.com)
Brian Webb – Dept of Health & Human Services, Community Practices & Innovation Sec (webbb3@michigan.gov)
Chaka McDonald – Oakland Community Health Network, Veteran & Military Families Navigator (mcdonaldc@oaklandchn.org)
Chris Brown – Detroit Wayne Mental Health Authority, Veteran Navigator (cbrown@dwmha.com)
Emily Ferstle Angus – Mission Continues, City Impact Manager (eferstle@missioncontinues.org)
Jamie McMillen – Detroit Rescue Mission Ministries-Volunteer Coordinator (jmcmillen@drmm.org)
Chris Economeas – Detroit Pistons, Community & Social Responsibility Manager (ceconomeas@pistons.com)
Chelsey Oeffler – Detroit Pistons, Community & Social Responsibility Coordinator (coeffler@pistons.com)
Lora Underwood – National Kidney Foundation, Program Coordinator (lunderwood@nkfm.org)
Gregory Spight – American Legion, Commander (gregory_spight@yahoo.com)
Tara Revyn – Mission BBQ, Catering Specialist/Community Ambassador (trevyn@mission-bbq.com)
Lisa Whitmore-Davis – AARP (lwhitmoredavis@aarp.org)
Geoffrey Devereaux – No Veteran Left Behind (veteranrescue@gmx.com)
Stephanie Shannon – Michigan Women Veterans Empowerment, Founder & CEO (miwvec@yahoo.com)
Earnett Nolden – Women Veteran Interactive (ednolden@yahoo.com)
Monique Baker-McCormick – Wayne County Commissioner, District 6 (bakermccormickstaff@waynecounty.com)
Stacie Clayton – Office of Council President Brenda Jones, Director of Special Projects (claytonsta@detroitmi.gov)